0 items in your basket £0.00

Rugby World Cup 2015 - Who Will Win?

Excitement has reached fever pitch over the Rugby World Cup as thousands of fans celebrate the start of the six week tournament which runs from September 18th to October 31st 2015

The opening ceremony of the Rugby World Cup between England and Fiji kicks off tonight at the Twickenham Stadium. The ceremony starts at 7pm and due to last 20 minutes - Kick off is at 8pm.

To celebrate the beginning of the tournament, the residents of Cardiff woke up this morning to find a giant rugby ball, which appears to have ‘smashed’ into the wall of the welsh capitals Cardiff Castle. It’s understood that a UK based company providing bespoke props worked throughout the night to install the giant display.Rugby World Cup

Although England are the official host of the Rugby World Cup tournament, Cardiff will play an integral part, hosting eight matches at the Millennium Stadium. The first two matches being on Saturday 19th and Sunday 20th September 2015.


Rugby World Cup Trophy

As part of the competitions 100 day trophy tour of the UK and Ireland, the Webb Ellis Cup made its final journey to the Twickenham ground this morning.

World Rugby Trophy

The gilded silver, Webb Ellis Cup, awarded to the winner of the Rugby World Cup, stands 38cms high, and weighs 4.5 kg. The cup is supported by two cast scroll handles, one features the head of a satyr and the other the head of a nymph.

On the face of the trophy the words ‘International Rugby Football Board’ are engraved in an arch and below that the words ‘The Webb Ellis Cup’ are engraved.

Although quite small in stature when comparing it to other sporting events, the cup is rich in history, being manufactured back in 1906.



Twenty teams will compete to win the Rugby World Cup – Can England take advantage of playing at home? Can they repeat their success of 2003 when Johnny Wilkinson’s dramatic drop kick saw them become champions for the only time?

What are your predictions for the Rugby World Cup 2015

Which two teams will reach the final?

Who will lift the Webb Ellis Cup?

Answers to be revealed on October 31st!

Good Luck England!

Leave a Reply